add

Homepage  |  Publications  |   Software  |   Courseware; indicators  |   Animation  |   Geo  |   Blog  |   Search website (Google)


Cogitata
(Things about which we are in doubt)

 

;

style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: "Times New Roman",serif;"> 

The book discussion will take place via ZOOM on the third Wednesday of every month, starting at 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 11am EST, 8am PST(**)). The first meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, December 15, 2021.  Each ZOOM meeting, three scholars will give a brief commentary on the chapter scheduled for that day, followed by an interactive discussion.  Each session will last for about two hours.

 

Please share this email with your networks, especially if you know someone else who might be interested in commenting.  Commentaries in the form of a video presentation (maximum 20 minutes) are welcomed, especially from those who cannot join the ZOOM meetings due to international time zone differences. If you would like to act as a commentator for any of the chapters (max 20 minutes, max 7 PPT slides), please get in touch with one of the event organizers (johnsonmwj1@gmail.com or  jaimi.hendrix@gmail.com) to finalize the details. 

 

ZOOM room link: 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9116543210?pwd=RkJWR0JtaDRVYTRNZE5yUVAxbVQ2Zz09  

 

Reviews of the book:

-  Schirone, Mark. (2021). Review of: Leydesdorff, Loet. The evolutionary dynamics of discursive knowledge. Communication-theoretical perspectives on an empirical philosophy of science. Cham: Springer Nature, 2021. Information Research, Vol 26 No 3, Review no. R725 [Retrieved from http://www.informationr.net/ir/reviews/revs725.html]

-  Mark Johnson’s review will be published in the November issue of Cybernetics and Human Knowing.  

>

You are cordially invited to join the slow-read/discussion of The Evolutionary Dynamics of Discursive Knowledge, the latest book by Loet Leydesdorff, freely available via Open Access. The book  provides an introduction to the connections between systems theory, evolutionary theory, sociology, STS, communication theory, and cybernetics and its objective is to facilitate interdisciplinary exchange.  We will read and discuss about one chapter each month. Scroll down for the provisional schedule.

 

Additional details:

- An open-access copy of the book is available at: https://rd.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-59951-5

- Email discussions will be archived at https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=en. Everyone is welcome to join the Google group. 

- RSVP to jaimi.hendrix@gmail.com. RSVP is not necessary, but preferred.

- This event series is hosted by the Club of Remy - Speed Dating of Ideas, a loosely affiliated group of cyberneticians.  For more details on the Club of Remy, check out its web site, www.clubofremy.org, or its YouTube channel  at 

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJumBT3J15xhAoNs9CnrSVg/about 

- Each ZOOM session will be recorded and posted in the above-mentioned Club of Remy YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJumBT3J15xhAoNs9CnrSVg/videos.

- For further information about this event series, contact Mark Johnson (Cybernetics, Univ. of Liverpool) at johnsonmwj1@gmail.com or Margaretha “Jaimi” Hendrickx at jaimi.hendrix@gmail.com.

 

Provisional schedule:

For the latest version of the schedule, go to https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=en.

Wed, Dec 15, 2021 - Chapter 1 - Knowledge-based Innovation and Social Coordination.

Commentary by Mark W. Johnson (Cybernetics, Univ. of Liverpool, UK).

Commentary by Andrea Scharnhorst (Senior Fellow, DANS, KNAW, NL)

Wed, Jan 19, 2022 - Chapter 2 - The Communication Turn in Philosophy of Science.

Chapter 3 - Scientific Communication and Codification.

Commentary by Edmundo Balsemão (Philosophy, Univ. de Coimbra, Portugal).

Commentary by Stasa Milojevic (Cognitive Science, Indiana University, Bloomington).

Commentary by Marco Schirone (Univ. of Borås, Chalmers Univ, Sweden).

Commentary by Diana Lucio-Arias (Pontifical Xavierian Univ., Columbia).

Wed, Feb 16, 2022 - Chapter 4 - Towards a Calculus of Redundancy.

Commentary by Inga Ivanova (Complex Systems, HSE Univ., Moscow, Russia).

Commentary by Larry Richards (Mgmt & Engineering, Indiana Univ. East, USA).

Wed, Mar 16, 2022 - Chapter 5 - Evolutionary & Institutional Triple Helix Models.

Commentary by Lucio Biggiero (Org. Science; Univ. of L'Aquila, Italia).

Commentary by Gene Bellinger (Storyteller, SystemsWiki’s Musings, NC, USA).

Commentary by Juzhuo Cai (Mgmt & Business, Tampere Univ., Finland).

Wed, Apr 20, 2022 - Chapter 6 - Regions, Innovations & the North-South Divide in Italy.

Chapter 7 - The Measurement of Synergy.

Commentary by Helen Lawton Smith (Innovation Studies, Birkbeck, London Univ., UK).

Wed, May 18, 2022 - Chapter 8 - Anticipation and the Dynamics of Expectations.

Commentators TBA.

Wed, Jun 15, 2022 - Chapter 9 - Subdynamics in Knowledge-based Systems.

Commentary by Igone Porto Gomez (Engineering & Organization, Univ. de Deusto, Spain). 

Commentary by Caroline Wagner (Public Affairs, Ohio State Univ., USA) 

Wed, Jul 20, 2022 - Chapter 10 - Cultural and Biological Evolution.

    Commentary by Christiane Gebhardt (Drees & Sommer, Zurich, Switzerland)

Wed, Aug 17, 2022 - Chapter 11 - Summary and Conclusions.

Commentators TBA.

 

(**) Changes in schedule due to Daylight Saving Time (DST) changes:

Please, synchronize with 5pm Paris/Amsterdam/Berlin/Maribor/Ljubljana time.  

Note that in March 2022, the USA moves its clocks 1 hour forward two weeks before the EU countries move their clocks forward.  Consequently, in March 2022, the ZOOM meeting will start 1 hour later for those residing in the United States at that time:  

   - Dec 2021 - Feb 2022: 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 11am EST, 8am PST)

   - Mar 2022: 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 12pm EDT, 9am PDT)

   - Apr - Aug 2022: 5 pm CEST (4pm BST, 11am EDT, 8am PDT)

To find out when DST changes go into effect for your country, visit https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html


Dr. Mark William Johnson
University of Liverpool

Email: johnsonmwj1@gmail.com
Blog: http://dailyimprovisation.blogspot.com